Formula One, or F1, is the highest level of international single-seater racing. It is sanctioned by the
Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile, or, the FIA. Each year, 20 of the greatest drivers compete
against each other, racing at some of the greatest circuits in the world. There are 10 teams, with two
drivers each. A typical race weekend begins on a Friday, with 2 practice sessions. Saturday is meant
for the final practice and qualifying sessions, while the main race is hosted on Sunday.
The 10 teams compete each year for the World Constructors Championship (WCC), and the 20
drivers compete for the World Drivers Championship (WDC). However, since 2014, Mercedes have
dominated the sport, taking the Constructors Championship for 8 seasons in a row(2014-2021). It
was only during the 2021 season where Mercedes were challenged and were defeated by 4 time
World Champions, Red Bull Racing Honda. But every great team needs a driver to lead their
championship charge, and for Mercedes, it was Sir Lewis Hamilton. Having won his first Drivers Title
in 2008 with Mclaren, Sir Lewis won 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020 World Drivers
Championship. He lost out to teammate Nico Rosberg in 2016. During the 2021 season, Sir Lewis
was defending his title, and looking to break the record for Most Championships won by a driver. But
after one of the greatest F1 seasons ever witnessed, with some of the most intense on and off-track
battles, Max Verstappen came out victorious to win his debut F1 World Championship. Interestingly,
the last time the WDC winning driver was not from the WCC winning team was in 2008 (where
Hamilton won his first Drivers title, and Ferrari won the Constructors).
Some of the most notable F1 drivers are Ayrton Senna, Micheal Schumacher, Niki Lauda, Sebastian
Vettel, Jim Clark, Kimi Raikonnen, Fernando Alonso, and many more. F1 and its support categories
have seen a few Indian/Indian origin drivers and team personnel- Karun Chandok (HRT Racing in
2010, Lotus in 2011), Monisha Kaltenborn (the first and only female Team Principal in F1 of Sauber,,
2012-2017), Jehan Daruvala (F2 with Carlin, member of the Red Bull Junior Team)
F1 is more than just racing, it’s a science, art and in many ways, a business too. With strategists
constantly changing the game, engineers finding ways to make the car faster, mechanics performing
the fastest pit stops, and more, F1 truly is a team sport. 2022 is set to be one of the most thrilling
seasons yet with new, more aerodynamically sound cars, a 23-race calendar, closer on-track battles,
more teams fighting for wins, and more. Will Max Verstappen defend his title or will Lewis Hamilton
win his record-breaking 8th championship? Or will a new driver rise to the challenge? As viewers of
the 2021 season have learnt, nothing in F1 is guaranteed, not even if you’re leading the last race at
Abu Dhabi until lap 57 of 58!
The first race of the 2022 season is the Bahrain Grand Prix, at Sakhir, from the 18th to the 20th of
March 2022. If you don’t already watch F1, I highly recommend that you do, and if you’ve been
meaning to get into the sport, this season is your chance to do so! This upcoming season will be a
season like no other.

Posted by cmradmin

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *